CALIFORNIA: The Facebook-owned messaging platform WhatsApp announced that users who do not accept its updated terms and conditions by the 15 May deadline will be unable to receive or send messages.
Their account will be listed as “inactive”. And inactive accounts can be deleted after 120 days, announced the messaging company in the latest blog.
Read More: WhatsApp rolls out video, voice calling feature to desktop users
The new privacy terms sparked a global outcry and sent users to rival apps Telegram and Signal, among others, prompting WhatsApp to delay the new policy launch to May and to clarify the update was focused on allowing users to message with businesses and would not affect personal conversations.